RSS

Does Jesus Make Life Better or is Jesus Better than Life?

21 Aug

When I was listening to this sermon a few weeks ago this question really struck me.  The way you answer this question makes a cosmic difference in your life. Here’s a whole chunk of the sermon. It’s worth the read/listen. I love Chandler’s love for God and his church and those who don’t know the love of God in Christ…yet.

It took me a while to become a believer because stuff I would hear was just not true. Like stuff that was said in church was just completely untrue. Almost every preacher I heard early on would talk about lost people as if we were all just like these ogres who hated our lives, like we were just at home every night in a fetal position going, “I hate it all. I never smile or experience joy.” It’s like at any moment we’re going to murder someone. And that was just kind of the picture painted, and I was like, “Are you kidding me? I love life.” That’s not true, but here’s what is. I think you can have a good marriage and not know Jesus. I do. My neighbors, in their sixties and never been church folk, don’t plan on starting any time soon. They’ve got a great marriage. Like I watch him—he serves her. They’ve got a great marriage. So I’m not saying they can’t have a good marriage, but I will say this. You will never know what the fullness of that relationship was designed to be outside of Jesus Christ. You can have good sex and not be a believer in Christ—you can—but you will never know the biblical word dode, mingling of souls, which is the biblical word for sex in the Old Testament. You will never know dode outside of Jesus Christ. And so what I want to teach is that He is the fullness of all things. And we don’t follow Him because He gets us those things; we follow Him because He is better than those things even to begin with….We don’t follow Jesus because He makes things better; we follow Jesus because He is better. I think Barry said it last week. “We don’t follow Him because He makes our life better; we follow Him because He is better than life.”

–from Matt Chandler of Village Church, “9 Pastoral Prayers”pdf mp3

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2008 in Christianity, gospel, Jesus, sermon

 

3 responses to “Does Jesus Make Life Better or is Jesus Better than Life?

  1. Don

    August 22, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    Nice, it is always great to see a M Chandler quote.

     
  2. joshuaotte

    August 26, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    Nice to know other Mainers appreciate the Matt Chandler. He’s a humble, God-centered preacher, no?!

     
  3. Dr. T

    September 11, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    In many respects, Jesus has made my life better. Actually, he made me better.

    When it is all said and done, however, Jesus is better than life. Amen to that.

     

Leave a Reply

 
